The Countdown Has Begun

September 6, 2013….232 days! 

I love to hike. For many years I have hiked the trails of West Virginia and Ohio. So far in 2013, I have been able to log over 1000 miles. There is nothing more peaceful then hiking in the woods early in the morning, listening to the music of the birds and the feeling the new day’s air on your face. Something special occurs within me while walking under the canopy of the forest and being enveloped by the quietness of the trail. I experience a unique connection with my God in those times of breathing in His creation and seeing the beauty of what He has made.

I am about to begin the biggest hike of my lifetime. To the best of my knowledge I have never stepped foot on the Appalachian Trail but I am preparing to hike the entire distance (thru-hike) during the spring and summer of 2014 (over 2000 miles). I hope that this blog will serve as an informational portal for those who desire to support me in this adventure.

The Target Date: April 26, 2014

The Starting Line: Springer Mountain, GA. – North of Atlanta

The Finish Line: Mount Katahdin, ME.

The Goal:    1. To Hike the Appalachian Trail (2,186 miles)… 14 States (Georgia, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, New York,  Massachusetts, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine).

2. To raise $250,000+ to help students attend Christian school. All money raised from the hike will go toward providing tuition assistance to families that desire to send their child(ren) to Dayton Christian or Xenia Christian School.

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The Countdown Has Begun

  1. Tim Combs

    Dave,

    Sign me up as a supporter at 10 cents per mile, which comes to a total of $218.60. I would love to hike a few miles with you some day next summer! What a great goal and great cause! May the Lord bless your journey!

  2. I’ll be praying for you, we’d love to send you some packages and be trail angels. When you know them please post your postal stops and approx. date so we can encourage you.

    • Thank you for praying for me. If you would pray for me now as I prepare – that I would remain healthy and strong. I have hiked 1200 miles so far this year and hope to hike another 1000 over the fall and winter. I will try to keep you up-to-date as to my plans for the trail – P.O. drops and real locations as I walk.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

