A Perfect Day and A Great Hike

HikeItForward-Final-SmallYesterday, September 7, was a perfect day for a nice long hike. The temperature was cool all morning and yet the whispery clouds allowed the sun to fill the sky all day long. I hit the trail about 7:30 in the morning as I followed the yellow blazes from the welcome center at Ceasar’s Creek. I just found out a couple of weeks ago that the yellow blaze trail is a 13+ mile loop around the lake. You have to walk along Rt. 73 (four lane highway) for about a half mile in order to cross over the lake…. and you also have to hike the road to cross the dam near the welcome center. All and all, though, the trail provides an enjoyable path under the canopy of the forest. The yellow blaze directs the hiker through Pioneer Village, passed a special pond that has lily pads twice as big as than Frisbees; and alongside a huge fossil field the size of ten football stadiums.

CCreek from path

I decided to hike the loop up to the dam and then turn around and retrace my steps. Twenty-six miles later, I hopped in my Accord more than ready to head home. Even though I was tired and my feet hurt a little bit…ok, more than a little, I was pleased with this hike of preparation. This 26-miler puts me at 1208 miles since January, 2013. I hope to hike another thousand miles prior to stepping on the A.T. 

Countdown – 230 days

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Local Hikes, Trail | Tags: | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Perfect Day and A Great Hike

  1. Nice! You’ve had some great days! John & I are following and will be happy to support your A.T. hike in the spring….blessings!
    PS Is anyone else accompanying you?

    • Thanks so much for your support! I will be hiking solo but the thru-hiker community is strong. Everyone kind of keeps tabs on everyone else.

  2. Cathy Ruth

    Did you know that the blue blazes you saw were part of the Buckeye Trail? Dr. D was on the B. T. 🙂

    • Yes, I was aware of the Blue Blaze and the BT. I followed the BT for several hours one day. It travels with the Yellow Blaze until you get to Rt. 73 and head across the lake. Another very beautiful walk up at Caesar’s Lake. I saw your daughter hiking at Sugar Creek one day last week – it was so nice to see her even if it was just a quick hello as we passed going opposite directions.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

