Dr. D. on the A.T. Sharing JC.

HikeItForward-Final-SmallI love the creativity and generosity of people. Today, I had a student come to my office and present me with an envelope. She shared with me that her family wanted to financially support me on the trail. They were praying about how best to do this and the following idea resonated with them. Inside the envelope were 20 ministry cards sharing the love of Jesus and the need to know Him personally. Their challenge to me was to find 20 people on my hike with whom to share my faith. For each card that I will pass forward, they have pledged a financial commitment. Their generous pledge includes a sacrifice from each child in the family and from the parents themselves.  I am blessed by the support, encouraged by the family involvement, and amazed by the creative stewardship.

Envelope 2The cards came in a beautiful, handmade envelope portraying the trail from Georgia to Maine, the incredible mountains to climb, and beautiful flowers growing on the banks of a cool-blue stream. Along the trail were red crosses marking the spots where I might share the calling cards of God’s grace. And in the middle of the envelope was the focus and purpose of their support …. written in bold letters, “Dr. D. on the A.T. sharing JC.” I plan to be faithful in giving these cards away… the envelope, however, I will keep in a special place for years to come!

Categories: Appalachian Trail, FinancialSupport, Hiking, Thru-Hike, Trail | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Dr. D. on the A.T. Sharing JC.

  1. Eddy

    Love this! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

