Long Way Home – Verse 2

HikeItForward-Final-SmallA few blog postings ago, I shared some great lyrics from a song by Steven Curtis Chapman called The Long Way Home.  It is a wonderful analogy regarding the “life-hike” that we walk. Our journeys,  although each one unique, have many common threads like mountains to climb and valleys to go through. The second verse of Chapman’s song is so meaningful to me, both as a physical and spiritual hiker.

“I got some rocks in my shoes – fears I wish I could lose – that make the mountains so hard to climb. DRR.Path.CCreek

And my heart gets so heavy with the weight of the world sometimes.

There’s a bag of regrets – my “should have beens” and  “not yets” – I keep on dragging around.

And I can hardly wait for the day I get to lay it all down.

I know that day is coming; I know it’s gonna be here soon;

And I won’t turn back even if the whole world says I’m going the wrong way,

Cause it’s just the long way home.”

Isn’t it amazing how one little rock in the shoe can grind your walk to a halt? Take that one rock away and the pace is easy. Steps turn into miles and the day looks brighter. The bag of regrets serves as a meaningful image as I carry around a 25 pound backpack all day. There is such a nice relief when the rest area comes and the pack can be taken off for a while. A bag of regrets can be much heavier to carry.

On the trail, I often reflect on these words and draw great strength from the last two lines. I won’t turn back (determination and dedication) even if the whole world says I’m going the wrong way (I know there will be times of discouragement and fatigue), cause it’s just the long way home (the Father is leading and comforting and providing for me – every single step of the journey).

Thanks, Steven Curtis Chapman! The CD is Re-Creation (2009) – check it out!

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Backpack, Gear, Hiking, Thru-Hike, Trail | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

