Wonderful Opportunity to Speak

HikeItForward-Final-Small

Tara Lee, Principal of Dayton Christian Homeschool, kindly asked me to share about my adventure at a recent school family campout. Arriving on campus, I found that the school’s quad had been transformed into a wonderful campsite with a dozen tents, a bonfire, and some special treats for the kids like snow cones, popcorn, and a bounce house! The planning team for the event had provided a big screen to show my PowerPoint presentation and a movie for the campers before the tents were opened and everyone climbed into their sleeping bags.

Tents in the QuadWhen it was time for me to share, God had already turned down the lights so my presentation was bright and clear in the late evening air. I was excited to share about my adventure and the campers were polite as they listened about Hike It Forward. I met lots of positive folks – the media guy was so helpful; I visited with a special lady before my presentation who shared about her hikes in the Great Smoky Mountains and in the Badlands of N. & S. Dakota; I had an exciting exchange with a young man that might lead to deeper collaboration in the days ahead; and I had a rather emotional conversation with a young woman whose father (who passed away just a few years ago) was an A.T. thru-hiker himself  – my presentation had brought back many memories for her and she glowed with excitement for my upcoming adventure.

I love talking about the hike – it prepares me and motivates me as much as, if not more than, spending a day on the trail. If you know of a group that would like to hear about Hike It Forward and my 2014 adventure, please contact me or leave a comment on this blog.

Countdown: 208 days!

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Tent, Thru-Hike, Trail | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Wonderful Opportunity to Speak

  1. Pingback: Hike it Forward with Dr. D on the A.T. | Dayton Christian Homeschool

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

