Almost Heaven…West Virginia

HikeItForward-Final-MediumThis weekend I had the great opportunity to go back home to West Virginia. I love the hills and the air of West Virginia in the fall. Although I went to visit with family, I fit a short 10-mile hike into my schedule on Saturday. I hiked through Core Arboretum and then along a bike trail toward the Pennsylvania state line. The day was a little cool but the sunshine was bright and the trees were filled with the colors of fall.

WV TrailI think every high school and college cross country team within 50 miles of Morgantown decided to utilize this section of the bike trail as a training course. I have never been passed by so many people in a 3 hour period in my life – 10 bikers and 10,352 runners (this is a little exaggeration – I didn’t count them).  How many people did I pass up? I did keep an accurate count of this number ….. “0!”

There were mile markers on the bike trail so I decided to track my speed. I was able to hike 7 consecutive miles under 15 minutes per mile. I was pretty happy with this. I typically hike 18-20 minute miles on the hills and dales of the backpacking trails. I knew that I would be faster on the straight and flat bike trails, but it was rewarding to know that I could reach the sub  4-mile an hour pace for almost two hours. on – I didn’t count them).  How many people did I pass up? I did keep an accurate count of this number ….. “0!”

 

Countdown….. 180 days!!!!

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Backpack, Hiking, Thru-Hike, Trail, West Virginia | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

