$136.51

HikeItForward-Final-MediumI am truly excited about seeing the Appalachian Trail first hand and hiking in Georgia in April. I am hoping and praying that I can see all 14 states and climb Mount Katahdin sometime in August. I am looking forward to the variety of weather, animals, flowers, and thru-hikers that I will experience along the way. But I am also excited to help more families enjoy Christian education. I am asking people to consider sponsoring Hike It Forward in order to raise scholarship monies for students that desire to enroll in the school system where I work. None of the money donated will go to me in any way. I will be buying all my gear, food, and expenses during the hike. Every dollar donated will go to tuition assistance.

We have a dress code at the school but every once in a while we allow the students to participate in a “jeans day.” The students pay a dollar in order to wear jeans – the money typically goes toward providing a student activity or supporting a missionary. I got the following email last week from one of my elementary principals:

Dr. Dave,

 I am pleased to inform you that the elementary students held a jeans day last Friday and as a result, they are joyfully blessing the AT journey with $136.51. It has been submitted to the finance office in your name. We hope this small token will bring you closer to your goal of educating children at DCSS.

 

Because of Him,

M ___W_____ , M. Ed

Principal

Elementary StudentsThis kind of student-generated gift brings tears to my eyes. Students helping other students come to our school inspires me. Sitting in my tent during a thunder storm will bring angst to my emotional stability. I hope to hang onto the sacrificial gift of $136.51 to bring focus and determination in the midst of difficulties. Thank you, students, for investing in my hike and helping me to change my world.

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Georgia, Mount Katahdin, Students, Support, Thru-Hike, Trail, Uncategorized | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

