Welcome the Ides of March

HikeItForward-Final-MediumI love the month of March! It is my birth month but that’s not why I like it so much. It is what I call the pivot month – the fulcrum between winter and spring. March is a mixture of cold winds and warm breezes; of sub-freezing temperatures and short-sleeve afternoons. March is the month of crocuses and forsythia and the buds of color.

The old saying concerning March – “Coming in like a lion and going out like a lamb!” or vice versa – demonstrates this pivot between seasons. A first grade class in my school took a vote in February as to whether March was going to come in as lion or as a lamb. The lion won by a landslide and those little 6-year olds were right on. The snow and cold have greeted us with open arms and frigid kisses on our cheeks. But for me, it is the promise of the lamb that gives me encouragement.

Jack in the Pulpit

Jack in the Pulpit

With my thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail just over 50 days away, the month of March will be filled with training, preparation, and a building anticipation. I am so looking forward to the sunshine, and those incredible signs of spring. I want to start hiking to work! The daylight is getting longer each day and those evening hikes at the MetroParks will be sweet.

I know the snow will turn to rain and the trails will still be sloppy from time to time but the sunny days will dry the trail quickly and the bleakness of February will begin to explode with buds of green, yellow, red, and the rainbow of wildflowers. I anticipate seeing my first jack-in-the-pulpit (my favorite spring wildflower) and walking on grass that is not brown. The trail seems friendlier with trees dressed in leaves and plants dotted with berries of black, blue, and red. The path seems to smile at me and my face produces a grin in response. Can you tell that I am ready to walk out of winter and catch the lamb of March?

Jack Photo: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arisaema_triphyllum

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Hiking, Local Hikes, MetroPark, Thru-Hike, Trail | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Welcome the Ides of March

  1. janloyd

    Have you seen any crocuses yet, Dave? They usually surprise me in late Feb as they push through, even the snow! But I haven’t seen any yet? My favorite are the hyacinths…but they have some time yet. Enjoy the discovering!

    • I have my eyes out for crocuses (or is that croci?) but nothing yet – tomorrow (Saturday) is a real possibility. It is supposed to be warm and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

