These Boots are Made for Walking

HikeItForward-Final-MediumMy trip to REI for shoes was a success. I got to the store 70 minutes before closing. I checked out the stock while waiting for an expert to assist me. When the young lady asked if she could help me, I almost felt sorry for her, but that did not stop me from smiling and saying how much I could use her help. I told her what I was looking for and my restrictions – I want a hiking shoe (probably not above the ankle), it should be as lightweight as possible, waterproofing was NOT desirable, it needs to have a wide toe box, and it needs to last 2200 miles. She was good to go with everything but the last one. We smiled at each other knowing that I was only kidding about the distance requirement.

shoesTwelve pairs of shoes later and a half dozen trips to the back, I had tried on every shoe that fit the description (and a few that didn’t, just in case). I made several circles around the store testing out various brands of footwear. Every time I returned, the expert had a smile on her face and two more boxes of possible clogs for me to try. When I eliminated a pair or two she responded with, “no problem, it’s important to find the right one,” – I am probably glad I could not read her mind.

With 20 minutes left in REI’s work day, I was standing in line with my purchase. I decided on the Merrell Moab Ventilator – quite a mouthful for a pair of shoes!

I hiked to work today (Tuesday) and couldn’t wait to try out my new shoes. I wore them around the store for 5 minutes but that is quite a bit different than a 5-mile trek to work. All in all the walk was great. I think it will take a little while to break them in but arriving back home this evening my feet were blisterless and with only a small sore place on the big toe of my left foot. I think I will try a different sock next time to see if my toe will feel a bit more comfy.

Speaking of hiking to work – what a great day. The a.m. hike was in the low 50s and the afterschool trek was 68 degrees! I so enjoyed the journey home in short sleeves. Tomorrow it is supposed to drop to single digits and the chance of snow. But spring is coming….soon.

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Backpack, Boots, Hiking, Local Hikes, REI | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “These Boots are Made for Walking

  1. BRough@us.ci.org

    Awesome! Glad you found a good pair,

    Ben Rough Director of Strategic Partnerships Church Engagement Compassion International 678.446.1361 http://www.compassion.com/churches

    From: Hike It Forward <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Hike It Forward <comment+7hqey2n75iljxtv66r31fw@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Tuesday, March 11, 2014 7:02 PM To: Compassion International <brough@us.ci.org> Subject: [New post] These Boots are Made for Walking

    drough2013 posted: “My trip to REI for shoes was a success. I got to the store 70 minutes before closing. I checked out the stock while waiting for an expert to assist me. When the young lady asked if she could help me, I almost felt sorry for her, but that did not stop me f”

    • You would have been proud of my shopping thoroughness! More snow this evening – how all is clear for canoe rides in Georgia.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

