2,000 miles

Countdown – 39 days

Major milestone – I broke the 2,000 mile barrier today!

HikeItForward-Final-MediumOne of my preparation goals was to hike the mileage of the AT before I actually hike the AT. I checked the 2014 A.T. Guide and found that the total mileage has changed – instead of 2, 185.9 miles it is now 2, 185.3 miles. Due to slight changes in the route the trail has actually diminished by 0.6 miles (that might be the advantage I need to succeed).

My total miles of hiking, having completed my walk to work back today, books in at 2,005.5. A little quick algebraic equation work and I ciphered that I need 179.8 more miles to reach the Mount Katahdin of training. Mile marker 2,005 would put me on Avery Peak just north of Stratton, Maine. It has taken 2000-milesme 14 months to log in the 2000 miles and it has been loads of fun preparing and dreaming of the real thing. If the weather permits and if my legs, feet, and knees stay strong, I still hope that I can accomplish this goal. I will need to average a little over 36 miles per week.

The weather was beautiful today. The morning commute was in the high 20s and the afterschool walk was a balmy 52 degrees. The wind was a bit cool on the walk home but the nice sunshine felt so good. I did not see any wildlife on today’s hike except for a few broncos, a mustang, and an impala but I enjoyed watching the sun come up.

 

2000 mile photo: http://atdeafblinddream.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/ramsham-notch-story-milestones-and-tidbits/

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Backpack, Countdown, Hiking, Local Hikes, Maine, Mount Katahdin | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “2,000 miles

  1. atdbdream

    Thank you for giving a credit of our 2,000 mile photo. 🙂 Good luck with your hiking! Happy Trails!

    • The photo fit my thoughts perfectly. I hope many of my readers hit your sight as a result. I hope to get to that line before the end of summer!

  2. Congrats! I love that .6 miles might be the edge you need, haha! Keep it up, you’re doing great!

  3. Mrs Stranger and I were just discussing the folks who quit because they didn’t do enough hiking to prepare. I have a feeling you won’t have a problem in that regard 🙂

    • Thanks for the encouragement. At my age,I thought preparation was very important. I hope that my feet and legs are getting the idea of what a long hike might be like. With a little more than a month to go, this is an important time not to slack in the training.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

