The ATC Connection

COUNTDOWN: 27 DAYS!

HikeItForward-Final-MediumI have had the opportunity recently to teach an online class with Indiana Wesleyan University within the adult education program. One of my students emailed me this weekend. He shared that he has a cousin who lives in central Virginia. My student made a visit to his cousin and on the way decided to swing by the headquarters of the Appalachian Trail Conservancy in Harpers Ferry, WV. He enjoyed his time at the ATC, learned a great deal about the trail from some of the staff, and appreciated the insights that a first-hand visit provided. He was actually able to share my plans and my blog address with them!  I love how God uses the network of others to share Hike It Forward. Maybe some folks from the ATC will be expecting me when I make it to Wild Wonderful West Virginia!

appalachian-trail-conservancyBrian, my student, also shared with me that when he entered the hiker’s lounge he noticed two pictures on the wall of the first NOBO thru-hikers of the season to reach Harpers Ferry!   They both arrived this past week and both started their trek in JANUARY!! I can hardly believe that anyone would intentionally start their journey in January – you talk about challenge and adversity. I applaud them both and lift my glass in a toast of hope for their continued quest for Katahdin. I will never meet them (probably – I might even be able to catch them : )) but I do want to see their pictures on the wall… and I want mine to be right up there with them.

Thanks Brian, for the cool report.

ATC Photo found at http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g60722-d132627-Reviews-Appalachian_National_Scenic_Trail-Harpers_Ferry_West_Virginia.html

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Appalachian Trail Conservancy, Harpers Ferry, Hiking, Thru-Hike, West Virginia | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The ATC Connection

  1. My hiking buddies and fellow Trail Dames, Dirigo & Python volunteer at the ATC in HP on the weekends. Maybe you will get a chance to meet them on your way through! Everyone there is awesome!

    • What a great place to volunteer. If I arrive on the weekend, I will definitely introduce myself to them. It will be so exciting to reach this milestone.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

