Posts and Miles

COUNTDOWN – 3 WEEKS!!  that’s just 21 DAYS!!

HikeItForward-Final-MediumThis post on Hike It Forward is my 195th post regarding my preparation for the thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail. What a joy to put my thoughts and plans on virtual paper and share them with friends and family and new-found friends. Thank you all so much for reading my ramblings and supporting my insanity. I have learned so much about the trail in all 14 states. I have discovered the interesting history of the establishment of the trail itself as well as the bigger-than–life thru-hikers who have conquered the wilderness. I have read about the animals that call the AT “home” and have made a mental checklist on which I hope to see and which I hope to avoid. I have learned some of the trail language and know what a NOBO is, what HYOH stands for, what MUDs and PUDs are, and the value of Vitamin I. I hope to continue to post until I leave. My new goal is to publish 210 posts before hopping on the trail at Springer Mountain, GA. I am not sure about technology and connectivity on the trail, but I hope to take a picture, share my trail miles for the day, and provide insights or prayer requests on a regular basis.

I took a great hike today (more on that adventure in tomorrow’s post) bringing my total number of miles up to 2, 114.8!! This leaves only 70.5 miles to hike prior to April 26 in order to meet my target of hiking the distance of the thru-hike before I attempt the thru-hike (2, 185.3 miles). This is very doable as long as the weather provides some warm days and clear skies. I am 85.2 miles from my original 2,200 miles of preparation. With Easter Break coming up and the daylight hours lengthening into the evenings, I might just reach the top of that mountain.

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Georgia, Hiking, Local Hikes, Springer Mountain, Thru-Hike, Trail | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Posts and Miles

  1. rjpawelski@juno.com

    Dave, I’ve enjoyed your almost daily messages ever since I got word of them a few months ago. I pray God will guide, guard, and keep you every step of the way. Surely one who had the stamina to take multiple groups of teenagers to the Dominican Republic and Shepherds Home will be equipped with the perseverance to make the A. T. hike if God sees fit to make conditions possible. We are for you, and look forward to hearing you for the three weeks–and ‘way beyond! Ruth and John Pawelski

    On Sun, 6 Apr 2014 01:26:44 +0000 Hike It Forward

    • Thanks so much for your support. I will definitely need all the wisdom I gleaned from the DR trip and the Shepherds Home visits. What great fun and stretching experiences they were.. Thanks for impacting my life during those days.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

