Made it to Georgia!

COUNTDOWN – 1 DAY

HikeItForward-Final-MediumWell, Cathy and I made it safely to Georgia and spent the afternoon/evening with my son, Ben, and his beautiful family. We arrived about 5:00 and took a wonderful hike around his neighborhood. We then went out to eat and I pigged out on what might be my last good meal for several days. I stuffed myself with pizza and it tasted incredible! I am full and content and rather sleepy. This will be the last night in a bed for quite a while. I hope I can get to sleep and stay asleep tonight.

The drive down was special for me. Cathy and I talked about lots of different things, we prayed for our family, the school, and a number of our friends. We just enjoyed being together.

Ben and Cathy and I will be headed for Springer Mountain tomorrow morning. I hope to be on the trail by 9:00 am. Ben lives about an hour and a half from the trail so we hope to blast out of the Atlanta area by 7:30. I am so excited about starting the adventure. Thank you all for your prayers and encouragement. I will try to post tomorrow from the AT and give you an update on my first day of hiking.

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Georgia, Springer Mountain | Tags: , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Made it to Georgia!

  1. janloyd

    Praying about the weather & a great beginning! Blessings on both you & Cathy! J&J

  2. Have a wonderful start! Take in every moment and enjoy being out there. It’s a different kind of beautiful, to be in the mountains at the start of such a journey. – Ent

  3. janloyd

    John & I decided to follow you on a map and read back through your blogs about the different places through which you are hiking…on the adventure with you, dear brother!

  4. Praying for you as you are taking your first steps on the AT!

  5. Best of luck today with the start of your hike!

  6. Kathy Reno

    What I find unbelievable is that you pigged out:-)
    Vaya con Dios!

  7. Rich Anglin

    Dave-Have a blast. Am praying for you. May God richly bless you on your journey.

  8. Good luck to you!

  9. John Mohler

    Did you pack a saxophone?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

