Born on a Mountain Top

Just past the 400 mile marker!

I have declared today as Davy Crockett Day on the AT. He was one of my childhood heroes and since I am on a mountain top in TN, I decided to Sing and Whistle the Davy Crockett song. I turned my hat around so my brim look like a coon skin tail. I ate a Snickers Bar in his honor – I know it would have been his favorite candy!

Lots of beautiful sights today. It started out with showers but by 10:00 the sun was out and it is a gorgeous day. Photo of cascades below at mile 407.7.

20140523-144230.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Born on a Mountain Top

  1. Mark

    S.K. would have enjoyed that as well however he would be a little further north.

    • Mark – do they have a song about Simon? Too bad Disney did not pick up on his story – I could have been singing “Simon, Simon Kenton” instead of Davy, Davy Crockett.”

  2. Steph

    “Raised in the woods so he knew every tree…” Now I have that song stuck in my head! 😉 I saw your trail register posts at a few shelters along the way, songs as well…

    • Steph – I hope your hike was amazing! You can tell how much of an impact music has on my life. I find myself singing so much in the woods where it is just God and me – I think He sings along with a smile on His face (I don’t sing very well, but my heart is in it).

  3. Same here, I’m going to be singing that song the rest of the evening. It’s a good song and I too liked Davy Crockett.

  4. Greg Kurtz

    Four hundred miles! You continue to amaze me. Keep drinking it all in. G. Kurtz

  5. janloyd

    Me too, Davy Crockett fans!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

