The Beauty of Southern Virginia

Diane and Tom drove me right to the trail head this morning after an incredibly wonderful zero day at their home. What a great visit and source of encouragement!! The next few days of hiking will be filled with glorious views of VA. The photo below was an unexpected clearing and rock outcropping the took my breath away. I am sitting on a rock enjoying a cool drink of mountain stream water and soaking in both the view and the sunshine. I am at mile 638.

Since VA is such a long state on the AT, I decided to divide it into 3 states. South Virginia ends at mile 648 -which means I will be 1/3 of the way through VA before the end of the day. I will be entering Middle Earth Virginia (Mid-VA for short). There are supposed to be Ents and Hobbits in the forests.

20140608-131420.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “The Beauty of Southern Virginia

  1. I wish I could join you in Middle Earth Virginia!
    “All that is gold does not glitter, Not all those who wander are lost; The old that is strong does not wither, Deep roots are not reached by the frost. From the ashes a fire shall be woken, A light from the shadows shall spring; Renewed shall be blade that was broken, The crownless again shall be king.” ~J.R.R. Tolkien

    • Matt – I love this quote – how appropriate for my adventure through the rocks of Middle Earth Virginia!

  2. janloyd

    🙂

  3. Joe Batchelor

    Hello, Again, Dave:
    I thought I would check on you before I grab me some lunch. Glad you are blogging up a storm so everyone can read updates. Psalm 27:5 “He will hide me in the shelter of his tabernacle and set me high upon a rock.” Have a great time going up and down those high Appalachian rocks.

    P.S. “Go not to the Elves for counsel, for they will say both no and yes.” JT

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

