Doah Kind to My Feet

June 23 – Day 59 on the AT.

So far the SNP has been wonderful to hike. There are mountains to climb but there are so many more flat areas and the paths are less rocky making it easier on the feet.

Yesterday I saw three bears, five rabbits and four orange salamanders – not all at the same time or in the same spot. Bear count is now seven! I made it to Blackrock Hut yesterday (mile 878) and today I hope to get to Hightop Hut at mile marker 899.9! (Can you believe just 0.1 mile short of 900). The nine hundred celebration will have to wait until tomorrow.

The two photos are views taken today as I made my way through Doah VA. Beautiful area – overcast today making the hike cool and comfortable – God is faithful!

20140623-153044.jpg

20140623-153119.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Doah Kind to My Feet

  1. janloyd

    Awesome, Dave! Congrats on almost 900! John & I hiked 6.1 miles on the canal path up near Piqua and we thought we were doing well (of course, the temp was about 88 degrees). We spoke of you, marveling, all along the way.

    • Thank you for constantly remembering me and posting notes of encouragement. I am often unable to respond because of internet connections but I read every comment and I blessed from hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

