Friends and Family

Pat was my best friend during college. Pat had two younger sisters. One of those was Terry. Terry and I are Facebook friends and when she realized that I was hiking the AT, she offered to feed and house me when I got close to West Virginia. A few days ago she and her husband drove an hour and a half to pick me up at Ashby Gap (find that on a map) drove me back to their home, fed me some great food, provided a comfy bed, cooked breakfast at 5 am, and drove me back to the trail head by 7:30 on Sunday morning (See a photo of Terry and I below). All of that for a friend you haven’t seen for 40 years! Thank you Trail Angels.

I arrived in Harpers Ferry, WV today (6/30) and Cathy drove up to see me. I am taking a 0 day tomorrow so we can spend some time together. This will most likely be the last time we will see each other until I have scaled Katahdin and arrive back in Ohio. What a special lady God has given me!

Harpers Ferry is the traditional halfway point of the Appalachian Trail. Thru-hikers get their picture taken and assigned a number in the order that arrive. My new favorite number is 924. I wonder how many of the 924 will complete the journey.

20140630-193114.jpg

20140630-195426.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Friends and Family

  1. katjandu

    May the Lord continue to protect you, guide you and provide more Trail Angles as you push on through the last half of your hike.

    • Amen! I become more and more confident in God’s provision every day. He has a perfect plan – I just need to surrender to it.

  2. janloyd

    So great, Dave! We love seeing your photo at Harper’s Ferry! Congratulations!

  3. Mark shaeffer

    Rest Dave rest. Then Go Dave Go.

    • I like your philosophy! I will hike all the way through the rest of West Virginia tomorrow (0.3 miles) and hopefully through Maryland the day after that. The rest has been great so far and the “go” will continue to be an adventure!

  4. Christopher Leverette

    Congratulations on making it to the halfway mark #924!!! We were so bummed we were out of town in New Mexico (for a family reunion) when you were hiking through our area of Virginia! It looks like “trail angels” are taking good care of you! May the Lord bless the second half of your journey through His incredible Creation!

    • Chris – I am sorry that we could not connect but I was so happy to hear that you were able to be with family for the reunion. Loft Mountain was beautiful and I really enjoyed the Wayside! God is providing in incredible ways.

  5. Mr. Rough,

    Congratulations on making it to the halfway mark! Your task is a hard one, but I know you can do it. Watching you tackle and accomplish this great thing is truly inspiring. Onward and upward!

    DT

    • Thanks for these words of encouragement DT. One step at a time, one day at a time, always experiencing God’s grace! He has been so faithful.

  6. Congratulations on your arrival in Harper’s Ferry and the half way mark! Praying that God will provide equal safety and blessings for the second half. Watch out Katahdin!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

