Rowdy Partying in Port Clinton!

July 12

It is not exactly a party but I will be staying in Port Clinton for a couple of days. Five days ago I took a true face plant on the trail. On the way to get water at a cascading mountain stream, I tripped on a rock firmly cemented deep into the trail. I fell so fast that I hardly had time to put my hands out. I bent the frames on my glasses (fortunately they were repairable), cut my face a little (thankfully I do not hike with face), smashed my pride, and dirtied my sweaty shirt. All of that to the left side of my body. It was not until later in the day that I noticed my right shin hurting a bit. Over that last few days the shin has continued to hurt – red, hot, and swollen.

I took a side adventure to Urgent Care today (thanks to a Trail Angel named Fred). After some X-rays, the doctor declared me mentally incompetent but physically able to continue the hike. He gave me some antibiotics and prescribed two more days of rest (off my feet).

So Port Clinton, population 279, is home until I hike out on Tuesday morning. I plan to rest in my room (at the Port Clinton Hotel – see photo) as much as possible with my foot elevated. I will keep you posted on all the wild parties I attend!

Photo extra – I thought I would post a picture of the post office where I picked up my new backpack. The postal workers were so kind and helpful.

20140712-183933.jpg

20140712-183944.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “Rowdy Partying in Port Clinton!

  1. I am so glad you are ok! This may sound cruel…but I do love to see a good fall. They crack me up, I just can’t help it! So glad your leg is on the mend though πŸ™‚

  2. Kurtz

    One of my dear friends taught me this life principle: “No adversity, no adventure!” πŸ˜‰ Rest up and heal well. Then hit it again. We are praying for you and wishing you well.

    • Greg – Looking forward to the time of rest and good food. Also looking forward to conquering the rocks of PA and moving on the NJ. I so appreciate your prayers. God is and has been so faithful.

  3. dan

    OK Dave …. now I’m ready for a “selfie” shot. Really concerned about the fall. Now you have more to talk about with those you run in to. Still – God is faithful. I just picture you sitting in a big overstuffed chair – foot propped up watching the World Cup – ordering pizza via delivery. Enjoy …. πŸ™‚ Love you man. dan Date: Sat, 12 Jul 2014 22:43:19 +0000 To: dpatterson_korrectplumbing@msn.com

    • Dan – no overstuffed chair here but I am able to elevate my foot. No pizza delivery but there’s a great restaurant one floor down. Small TV in the room with Cable so I can watch all the sports I want! Looking forward to the rest and then finishing up PA and walking through NJ.

  4. Terry Bailes

    Hope you are feeling better. You are in our prayers,

    • Terry- thanks for your encouragement. The foot is a little sore but I know I will be ready to go in just a few days.

  5. janloyd

    John & I adore your sense of humor, Dave…but HATE the you are injured. May the Lord meet you in a special way in, what looks like, a sweet little town. Continuing to pray!!! Enjoy your “Sabbath.”

    • Thanks Jan. Port Clinton seems to be a quiet, peaceful town. There is not much to do here so I am not tempted to walk around and see the sights. I plan to spend all day in my room with my foot elevated.

  6. Skolik, Ann

    I’m sure some chocolate pudding is all you need if they have it in Port Clinton. We’re praying for you daily. Enjoy your rest and reorganize your new backpack. Ann and Bill

    Sent from my iPad

    • Chocolate pudding fixes all. Thanks for the reminder – I will try to find some. If I cannot find it in pudding form, chocolate will be part of the get well diet.

  7. Jim Roberts

    If xrays can determine mental capability, I need to check that out. But eating a full half-gallon of ice cream in one sitting should provide some insight that someone’s brain is still in grad school.

    • Jim – Maybe the ice cream gave me a brain freeze. Maybe I should take a second dose. No matter what you think X-rays can see right through you!

  8. iheartpalmspringsca

    Ahhh…so you are not super-human yet…we were wondering…you were making this hike look easy! Much prayer for your healing! Love & hugs!
    ~Bruce & Sharon

  9. Glad to hear that your fall isn’t going to hold you back long. Someone is certainly looking out for you.

    • I was concerned that something more serious was involved and I might have to leave the trail – God is faithful and providing the perfect plan for me.

  10. Praying that your recovery will be quick and complete! Enjoy the rest and the opportunity for eating a few more substantial meals!

  11. Ron and Gail Hostetler

    Hope you are on the mend and back on the trail soon. We met you (twice) while we were day-hiking. The first time we met you had just taken your tumble. The second time was just after you left the Kessel overlook. We asked you where you were when the nasty storm went through and you replied, that you were on the crest of the mountain and that “It was very windy, but God is my protector…so I rolled over and went to sleep.” That made us smile. We could tell you were a man of deep faith. We are looking forward to keeping up with your journey through this site. Add two more people to the list of those praying for you.

    • Ron and Gail – hope your drive back to IN was safe and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to meet you on the trail and to have a few brief conversations. Thanks for checking out the blog. My fall has slowed me down but I hope to be on the path on Tuesday.

  12. Jim Roberts

    I made it through “PA” this week too!! Now stepping into the state of “GRAND-PA” – Mary (2004) had a son Ethan James on July 16th and gets to go home, Newton, KS, today. Katie (1999) had a husband, Joshua Nathan, on July 19th then returns to Black Forest Academy with him, August 9th..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

