July 16 – Evening Report

Just a quick report on a very good day. The weather was ideal – cool and comfortable. My shin performed quite well despite the boulder and rock obstacle course presented by the trail.

Two great views (The Pulpit & Dan’s Pulpit). I attached a photo of Dan’s Pulpit because it looks like a mail box – in fact it is a mail box, not for sermon suggestion but for hikers to sign their visitation to the overlook.

I also attached a picture of one of the biggest pile of rocks I have ever seen located at The Pinnacle – I found the biggest rock I could lift off the trail and offered my contribution to the monument.

I am tired but I was able to hike 22.2 miles! Just a few more days and I will be out of PA.

20140716-180458.jpg

20140716-180514.jpg

20140716-180524.jpg

20140716-180534.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “July 16 – Evening Report

  1. jim

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow including the trail…so glad you could get back on…

  2. LInda Robertson

    Dr. Rough,
    So good to hear you were able to continue your hike. We continue to pray for your safety and further healing for your leg.

  3. Glad to hear your back on the trail! I’ll have my Boy Scouts on the AT at the Delaware Water Gap this weekend,(on the New Jersey side, just a four or five miles from where the trail crosses the Delaware River). If my math is decent, there is chance that you are coming through there while we’re up there. We were planning on trying to haul up some trail magic for any thru-hikers we met up with anyway, but if there is anything you’d like in particular, I’m happy to pack it in. Just look for the kids in purple shirts.

    If my timing isn’t right, you should still be pretty close. I’d be happy to stake out a spot on the trail somewhere late Sunday morning/early afternoon so I can shake your hand and hand you a cold beverage on your way past.

    Thanks for sharing your trip with the world.

    Mike, South Jersey Trails
    michaelmccormick26@gmail.com

    • Mike – I hope to make it to Delaware Water Gap tomorrow (Saturday, July 19) I would love to be able to connect. I plan to stay at the Church of the Mt Hostel.

      • We’ll be on top of the mountain on the New Jersey side tomorrow night, and we’ll be coming off the mountain Sunday morning. Sunday morning, we’ll be walking by 7 am. Could try to meet you on the trail, At the parking on the Jersey side, or at the hostel,
        depending when you are looking to get going. Whatever is easiest for you.

        Mike

      • I try to hit the trail as early as possible – 6 to 6:30. On the trail would be our best opportunity I wear a yellow shirt and blue baseball hat.

      • Sounds good! I’ve a black Flyers baseball cap and a yellow shirt with a mosquito on it.

      • I’ll be looking for you.

      • Climbing this morning – just past Holly Springs Trail.

      • Welcome to Jersey! We’re at the DouglAs Trail intersection (big info board there). Trail guide says it’s 4.5 miles from the PA side of the bridge

      • We should be very close to one another.

  4. I am so pleased to hear that your first day back on the trail was such a productive one! Praying for God’s continued blessings, encouragement, and protection as you continue your journey!!

    Psalm 5:11 ESV

    But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.

    • Todd – thanks for this wonderful verse in Psalm 5. I love to sing in the woods – I don’t have a great voice but I can sing with great joy in God’s creation. His protection has been absolutely incredible.

  5. Hey Dr. D,

    I’ve been watching your blog, I hope to do the trail myself some day. I’m glad that you are able to continue on the hike. I seen your Pinnacle pic and I thought, man I’ve seen that before. I have the exact same pic. from last year. I hiked it with my son who now lives in Allentown. Whom by the way graduated from XCHS 2007. God is good.

    • Mitch – thanks for your comment. The AT adventure is the hardest thing I have ever attempted but one of the most rewarding. Thanks for sharing about the Pinnacle and your son – go XC!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

