I Made It Through PA!!!

July 19 – My last day of walking on Pennsylvania rocks is complete! My feet hurt and my leg muscles are sore but my shin is much better (I am finally hiking with two strong legs).

Some boulders today, lots of small sharp rocks, and some challenging trail. I’ve attached a few photos of the trail today. The overlook is a special one to me – the River is the Delaware – on the left of the river is New Jersey and to the right is Pennsylvania.

Two goals met today: First was to finish PA. (Only 0.3 miles to the NJ border tomorrow) Second was to reach the Countdown Marker putting me less than 900 miles to go – Delaware Water Gap puts me at 895.7 miles to Katahdin!

I hope to reach 1300 miles hiked tomorrow.

20140719-175159.jpg

20140719-175232.jpg

20140719-175351.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “I Made It Through PA!!!

  1. janloyd

    Welcome to my home state…NEW JERSEY! I love the Delaware Water Gap area. Spent many a homeschool field trip exploring Washington’s Crossing with Jeremy and Beth…both on the NJ side as well as the PA side. Enjoy the lushness and say “HI” to NJ for me. Wish we were there to welcome you 😉

  2. Congratulations on both of the day’s accomplishments and many praises to God for two strong legs! Praying for protection, safety and uplifted spirits for the remaining <900 miles to Katahdin.

  3. katjandu

    Oh going through my head is this refrain: ‘Onward, forward, shout aloud, “Hosanna!”
    Christ is Captain of the mighty throng.” <William F. Sherwin

  4. Lynette Rarick

    Congratulations, Dave – what an incredible accomplishment! I am so glad your leg is healing and is stronger. You”re in the 100’s now – woo hoo! I’m cheering you on and covering you in prayer!

  5. It’s so amazing to see God beauty and creativity in how created our world. The pictures you post are beautiful and I’m sure are much more breath taking in person. Praying for you and keep up the good hiking! Glad to hear your leg is strong again!
    Chris, Bekah, and the kiddos

  6. My desire is that you will constantly be uplifted with the knowledge that your friends and family are praying constantly for your journey. When I think of our family week spent each year at a beautiful WV State Park I recall you hiked daily at Blackwater Falls, Canaan Valley and Pipestem I realize God has been preparing you for this journey. May you feel .His presence daily. Sharing in His love, Dee

    • Dee – I have reflected on the trails of WV so many times during the hike so far. Those Almost Heaven miles prepared me in many ways for the endurance and enjoyment of the AT. Thank you so much for your prayers.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

