Welcome to Connecticut – July 30

I made it to my shelter for the night – Mt. Algo Shelter at mile 1462.9 in the state of Connecticut!!

It was so sad to say goodby this morning to my wonderful friends from Ohio and my dearest wife. My eyes were filled with years as I hiked out of sight of my dear ones. No sooner had I hiked around the corner that I met Hob and Chickadee (a married couple about my age). Hob has hiked the AT twice before and was full of stories to tell as we walked. The next thing I knew it was 11:00 and Hob and his wife were headed into town to pick up a package. Our visit was such a nice buffer back to the trail.

Today’s hike brought a variety of terrain and views. I attached a picture of a beautiful river, a covered bridge, and a lovely view of the Connecticut countryside and a little border sign.

20140730-184526.jpg

20140730-184539.jpg

20140730-184552.jpg

20140730-184605.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Connecticut – July 30

  1. As I read your post today and over the past few weeks, a Fanny Crosby song comes to my mind. One verse shares, ” all the way my Savior leads me, cheers each winding step I tread, gives me grace for every trial, feeds me with the living bread. Though my weary steps may falter and my soul a thirst may be, gushing from the Rock before me lo a spring of joy I see.”
    Sorry of that is now stuck in your head!! 😊. Praying for you daily!!

  2. Andy J.

    Wishing you blessings on your journey, just catching up with your adventure is very inspiring. Carpe diem! And all God’s bountiful blessings.

    • Andy – thanks for your words. Carpe diem has a very special meaning on the trail – each day is unique and presents an amazing set of circumstances.

  3. Jane Patterson

    What an inspiration you are to all of us. God has indeed graced you along your jouney!! Praying for you. ” Little by little one step at a time.” “God is so wonderful, I can’t explain.” “His grace is enough for me.” “Through it all I’ve learned to trust in Jesus.” You are doing it!! Jane

  4. Steph

    Hi Rowdy– I took two of those same photos when I was in CT– the Housatonic River, and the view…and I remember those points, although I didn’t go to the covered bridge. Glad you’re still hiking!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

