S eptember 9 – Under 200 Miles to Go!

Today I passed the 200 mile mark left to reach Katahdin! There is no trail marker but our campsite (Crocker Cirque) is 195.5 miles from The Mountain.

Lots of beautiful trail on this cool day. I didn’t make the distance that I had hoped for but some very strenuous downhill really slowed us down.

My dad served in the CCC before WW2 and this plaque on the trail reminded me of what a wonderful man and what a special dad he was. He did not serve in Maine but I find it interesting the the CCC helped complete the Appalachian Trail

20140909-174006.jpg

20140909-173954.jpg

20140909-173931.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “S eptember 9 – Under 200 Miles to Go!

  1. Matt Rough

    So cool! Praying for you, Dad, as you finish strong!

  2. katjandu

    Praying for you. You’re almost there. Wonderful of you to post so much of this hike. It’s close to being there myself.

  3. Praying for a strong finish and that the Lord will safely guide every remaining step!

    Psalm 139:1-6 (ESV)

    O Lord , you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord , you know it altogether. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it.

  4. Gadget

    Hi, Rowdy –

    You’re almost there!! You’ll never forget the end. I’m so happy we crossed paths and met and were able to hike together for some time. Glad I was able to find your blog. You’re amazing!

    – Gadget

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

