September 14 – Caratunk, ME

I had a great breakfast at the Pierce Campsite and then we headed out to the Kennebec River. This river is so deep and wide that the AT provided a ferry service – a canoe and a guide to get hikers safely across. RaceWalker and I shuttled together and made it safely across in about 15 min.

After the river crossing we were less than one mile to Caratunk. I had mailed myself a food drop to a hostel in this town so we stopped to pick it up and spend the rest of the day taking a breather. No cell phone service here so I will save this until I can post.

20140914-172209.jpg

20140914-172158.jpg

20140914-172148.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “September 14 – Caratunk, ME

  1. Tim Combs

    Dave, I am going to miss your posts when this adventure is over. It has been such a joy to hear of your progress day by day. Praying you to the finish!

  2. Kurtz

    Christ-follower, Christina Rossetti, wrote finishing words for you. Tough miles, but with the repeated assurance that you will persevere! Godspeed.

    Does the road wind up-hill all the way?
    Yes, to the very end.
    Will the day’s journey take the whole long day?
    From morn to night, my friend.

    But is there for the night a resting-place?
    A roof for when the slow dark hours begin.
    May not the darkness hide it from my face?
    You cannot miss that inn.

    Shall I meet other wayfarers at night?
    Those who have gone before.
    Then must I knock, or call when just in sight?
    They will not keep you standing at that door.

    Shall I find comfort, travel-sore and weak?
    Of labour you shall find the sum.
    Will there be beds for me and all who seek?
    Yea, beds for all who come.

  3. What in the world is that last picture of? Did you cross a ditch on those logs!?

    I echo the sentiments of Tim, I’ll miss your updated posts when you’ve completed your journey. Certainly adding to the prayers for a great finish to your adventure.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

