REI Has Asked Me Back

REI CincinnatiI had a great opportunity this past July to share about my hike along the Appalachian Trail at the REI store in Cincinnati. There was a nice turnout to hear my story. The coordinator at the local store said that they had a wait-list of 40 people to attend my workshop. I was humbly bowled over when I heard that news. I asked if I could come back and share again. The coordinator was very interested and asked that I contact him for another date.

REI expert, Owen, and I have been email buddies working on another engagement. We have agreed on a Wednesday in October – October 21st at 6:30 pm. Their website just added the workshops in October. It is a first-come, first-serve sign-up. If you are interested in attending, here is the link to the workshops held in Cincinnati http://www.rei.com/stores/cincinnati.html. There are 20 spots left in my workshop as of this morning.

Here is the information they posted:

Wednesday, October 21, 2015            6:30 – 8:00 PM EDT               Hiking the AT with Dave Rough

Join us for an evening with local Appalachian Trail thru-hiker Dave Rough. Take a virtual walk from Georgia to
Maine highlighting some of the trail’s sights, sounds, joys, and trials and including some tips on gear, planning, and preparation. Please bring a friend and all your questions about the AT.

HikeItForward-Final-Medium
I would love for all of you to attend the workshop at REI. I am always thrilled to talk about my adventure and the incredible faithfulness of God during the hike. The smell of the forest seems to have lodged in my lungs, the songs of the birds echo in my ears, the sights of the trail still fill my dreams, and the call of the woods continues to tug on my heart. Talking about the AT opens up a therapeutic window that allows my inner memories to be shared.   My paraphrase on an old saying: “You can take the hiker out of the woods but you can’t take the woods out of the hiker.”

Categories: Appalachian Trail, Georgia, Hiking, Maine, REI, Thru-Hike, Trail | Tags: , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “REI Has Asked Me Back

  1. Leah and I are signed up and looking forward to it!

  2. That’s great!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

