About the A.T.

The Appalachian Trail travels through 14 states with a southern terminus in Springer Mountain, Georgia and a northern terminus at Mount Katahdin in Maine. This incredible path covers approximately 2200 miles (2185.3 miles according to The A.T. Guide 2014 Northbound – A Handbook for Hiking the Appalachian Trail by David Miller). Hiking through the Great Smoky Mountains, across the Shenandoah Valley, over the Presidential Mountains, and to the top of Mount Katahdin makes this trail beautifully challenging.


October 1921: An article entitled An Appalachian Trail: A Project in Regional Planning written by Benton MacKaye appeared in the Journal of the American Institute of Architects, thus giving birth to the idea of a continuous trail along the Appalachian Mountains .

April 1922: The Appalachian Trail Committee of Washington was formed.

March 3, 1925: The Appalachian Trail Conference was established.

June 1931: Myron H. Avery was elected to his first of seven consecutive terms as the ATC chairman.

August 14, 1937:  The Appalachian Trail was finally completed as a continuous footpath.

April 1948: Earl Shaffer earned the distinction of being the A.T.’s first thru-hiker.

October 2, 1968: The A.T. becomes a national scenic trail under federal protection.

August 1972: The ATC headquarters moved from Washington, D.C., to Harpers Ferry, WV.

July 4, 2005: The Appalachian Trail Conference becomes the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, celebrating 80 years of caring for the Appalachian Trail.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

%d bloggers like this: